The Camino de Santiago (also known as "The Way of St James)  is a large network of ancient pilgrims routes spreading across Europe which all come together at the tomb of St James in Santiago de Compostela in the north west Spain, in the providence of Galicia. 


The most popular route is the Camino Frances route, starting at the bottom of the French Pyrenees in a small town called St Jean Pied de Port  stretches across 790 km to Santiago de Compostela. The Camino Frances is made up of 33 stages, and you can choose to do as much or as little as you like, however the last 100km from Sarria to Santiago is a the minimum requirement to obtain a compostela (certificate of completion) .


For some, the Camino is a religious pilgrimage, others it is a spiritual journey and for others it may be a physical challenge, whatever the reason for over 1200 years,  people have made their way along the Camino de Santiago every year following the waymarker of yellow arrows or scallap shells to guide them on their journey.


The Official statics from The Pilgrim's Office in Santiago de Compostela reports 301,036 pilgrims completed their pilgrimage in 2017 







The 33 Stages of the Frances Camino have been extracted from one of the most popular Camino guide books available  called "A Pilgrims guide to the Camino de Santiago" by John Brierley

Stage 1: St. Jean Pied de Port to Roncesvalles (25.1km)

Stage 2: Roncesvalles to Larrasoanna (27.4km)

Stage 3: Larrarsoana to Cizur Menor (20.9km)

Stage 4: Cizur Menor to Puente la Reina (19km)

Stage 5: Puente de la Reina to Estella (21.9km)

Stage 6: Estella to Los Arcos (21.1km)

Stage 7: Los Arcos to Logrono (28.6km)

Stage 8: Logrono to Najera (30.1km)

Stage 9: Nájera to Santo Domingo de la Calzada (21km)

Stage 10: Santo Domingo de la Calzada to Belorado (22.9km)

Stage 11: Belorado to San Juan Ortega (24.3km)

Stage 12: San Juan de Ortega to Burgos (25.6km)

Stage 13: Burgos to Hornillos del Camino (21km)

Stage 14: Hornillos del Camino to Castrojeriz (20.2km)

Stage 15: Castrojeriz to Fromista (25.2km)

Stage 16: Fromista to Carrion de los Condes (20.5km)

Stage 17: Carrion de los Condes to Terradillos de Templarios (26.8km)

Stage 18: Terradillos de Templarios to El Burgos Ranero (26.9km)

Stage 19: El Burgos Ranero to Mansilla de las Mulos (24.5km)

Stage 20: Mansilla de las Mulos to Leon (18.6km)

Stage 21: Leon to Villar de Mazarife (22.2km)

Stage 22: Villar de Mazarife to Astorga (32.2km)

Stage 23: Astorga to Rabanal del Camino (21.4km)

Stage 24: Rabanal del Camino to Molinaseca (26.5km)

Stage 25: Molinaseca to Villafranca del Bierzo (30.9km)

Stage 26: Villafranca del Bierzo to O Cebreiro (30.1km)

Stage 27: O Cebreiro to Triacastela (21.3km)

Stage 28: Triacastela to Sarria (18.7km)

Stage 29: Sarria to Portomarin (22.4km)

Stage 30: Portomarin to Palas de Rei (24.8km)

Stage 31: Palas de Rei to Ribadiso (25.8km)

Stage 32: Ribadiso to  O'Pedrouzo (22.1km)

Stage 33: O'Pedrouzo to Santiago (20km)

Recommended Camino DVD's

"The Way" staring Martin Sheen and Emilio Estevez



"Walking the Camino.. 6 ways to Santiago"  is a documentary that follows 6 individual people along their Camino from St Jean Pied de Port to Santiago de Compostela.

To Purchase your copy go to: